Brief Introduction to YCTU

Located in Yancheng, a coastal city on the Yellow Sea, Yancheng Teachers University (YCTU) is a state-owned university under the direct auspices of Jiangsu Provincial Department of Education.

Founded in 1958, YCTU was established on the basis of the merger of Yancheng Teachers College and Yancheng Institute of Education in 1999, and Yancheng Business School, a national key polytechnic, in 2002. YCTU has two campuses (Tongyu and Xinchang) and covers an area of 240 acres.

The university enrolls more than 21,000 undergraduates and 3,700 further-education students. And it offers 76 specialties, 14 of which are for teacher education and 62 are non-pedagogical, covering 9 disciplines--Economy, Law, Education, Literature, History, Science, Engineer, Administration and Art. All the specialties are provided accordingly by its 17 schools: Liberal Arts, Law & Politics, Marxism, Public Administration, Foreign Languages, Music, Education, Fine Arts & Design, Education, Mathematics & Statistics, New Energy & Electronic Engineering, Chemistry & Environmental Engineering, Ocean & Biological Engineering, Pharmacy, Urban Planning, Physical Education, Information Engineering and Business.

The strength of YCTU is partly reflected by its 3 national-level characteristic majors, 5 provincial-level characteristic majors, 4 provincial brand majors and 7 provincial key majors. Additionally, YCTU is the training base for service outsourcing enterprises and national teacher training programs.


YCTU is proud of its teaching quality, devoted staff members and fine administration. YCTU has more than 1,500 staff members, over 1,000 of them are full-time teachers, and over 400 of the teaching staff have doctoral degrees, including 122 professors and 370 associate professors and 65 of whom being graduate or doctoral supervisors with Nanjing University, Wuhan University, East China Normal University, Tongji University, Hehai University and Soochow University.


As an active participant in educational globalization, YCTU enjoys good partnerships with 61 universities across the world by hosting international academic conferences, operating joint-educational programs, and conducting international joint-researches. In particular, YCTU has a joint-program (Music and Performance) with Moscow State University of Culture. It also has joint-programs for postgraduate students with Nanjing Normal University, Nanjing Industrial University, Hehai University and Tianjin Normal University.


Dedicated to discovering and realizing the full potential of her students, YCTU is ideally positioned to respond to the cultural, economic and educational environment of the 21st century China and is forging a first-class teachers university in the future.